Péter Eötvös: Concertos

Péter Eötvös: Concertos

14 EUR10 EUR
Péter Eötvös: Concertos
Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra / BBC Symphony Orchestra (dir. Péter Eötvös)
Akiko Suwanai / Richard Hosford / John Bradbury / Pierre-Laurent Aimard
2014 © BMC Records #170

1-5: Seven (2006), Memorial for the Columbia Astronauts
[for violin and orchestra]

6-10: Levitation (2007)
[for two clarinets, string orchestra and accordion]

11-15: CAP-KO (2007), dedicated to Béla Bartók
[Concerto for Acoustic Piano, Keyboard and Orchestra]

Since the beginning, Péter Eötvös’s musical thinking has been characterized by a strong affinity for the stage. Although this is apparent in his instrumental works, perhaps the most dramatic instrumental genre, the concerto, did not occupy an important place in his early creative period. But in the period from his first large opera, Three Sisters (finished in 1997) up to the present, the concerto is perhaps the most important and most characteristic of his genres.